Stephen Buchwald

Stephen Buchwald

2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry

Stephen L. Buchwald is a U.S. chemist and Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry at MIT. Buchwald shares the 2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry with Professor John Hartwig of the University of California at Berkeley for their development of the Buchwald-Hartwig amination, a process used to improve the synthesis of large organic molecules.

Education and Work Experience
  • 1982, Ph.D. from Harvard University
  • 1982-1984, Postdoctoral fellow, California Institute of Technology
  • 1984-1993, Assistant professor to associate professor of chemistry, MIT
  • 1993-Present, Professor of chemistry, MIT
Honors and Awards
    • 2000, Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Science
    • 2008, Member of the National Academy of Sciences
    • 2019, Wolf Prize in Chemistry
Major Academic Achievements

Research in the Buchwald Group combines elements of organic synthesis, physical organic chemistry, and organometallic chemistry to devise catalytic processes of use in solving problems of fundamental importance. Buchwald is known for his involvement in the development of the Buchwald-Hartwig amination and the discovery of the dialkyl biaryl phosphine ligand family for promoting this reaction and related transformations.