about wla

A Global Platform for Cooperation and Exchange on Scientific and Technological Innovation.



The World Laureate Association (WLA), is one of the largest world laureates’ organizations. With world laureates and young scientists at its core, WLA is dedicated to promoting excellence in science and navigating scientific development through expertise of its chemistry, physics, medical science, economics, computer science and mathematics.

The World Laureates Association (WLA) is one of the largest world laureates’ organization, which currently consists of 148 laureate members, containing 62 Nobel Laureates.

The WLA Executive Committee consists of the following iconic figures in the international science community, who stand out for their significant contributions to the development of science.

Prof. Roger Kornberg, Chairman of WLA, 2006 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, the sixth pair of father and son laureates in the history of Nobel Prize, Israel’s National Science Advisor, Scientific Advisor for Russian President Vladimir Putin;

Prof. Steven Chu, Vice Chairman of WLA, 1997 Nobel Laureate in Physics, President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, former US Secretary of Energy;

Prof. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Vice Chairman of WLA, 2009 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Chairman of the Royal Society;

Prof. Ryoji Noyori, Vice Chairman of WLA, 2001 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, former Chairman of RIKEN;

Prof. Michael Levitt, Vice Chairman of WLA, 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Founder of Computational Chemistry, being praised as “The Most Powerful Brain”;

Prof. Randy Schekman, Vice Chairman of WLA, 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, former Editor-in-Chief of Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Leading figures in the scientific originality

Prof. Barry Sharpless, 2001 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, the founder of Click Chemistry, probably will win his second Nobel prize soon;

Prof. Eric Maskin, 2007 Nobel Laureate in Economics, laid the foundation of mechanism design theory;

Prof. Allen Bard, winner of the 2008 Wolf Prize in Chemistry, father of modern electrochemistry;

Prof. Alexander Levitzki, winner of the 2005 Wolf Prize in Medicine, pioneer of signal transduction therapy;

Prof. Martin Hellman, winner of the 2015 Turing Award, invented asymmetric public-key cryptography;

Prof. Jin-Quan Yu, a 2016 MacArthur Fellow, pioneered new methods for the catalysis and functionalization of C-H.

institution in Asia

Prof. Edvard Moser and Prof. May-Britt Moser, pioneers in the field of brain science, the fifth Nobel Prize-awarded couples and 2014 Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine;

Prof. David Gross, Prof. Frank Wilczek and Prof. Duncan Haldane, pioneers in the field of high-energy physics and quark particle research, two pairs of teacher-students Nobel Laureates (Frank Wilczek is a former student of David Gross; and Duncan Haldane was a former student of Wilczek, also 2016 Nobel Laureates in Physics);

Prof. Arieh Warshel, pioneer in computational chemistry, 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry;

Prof. William Moerner and Prof. Stefan Hell, pioneers in super-resolved fluorescence microscopy and 2014 Nobel Laureates in Chemistry.