Attention to the Common Destiny of Mankind, "The Strongest Brains" Gathered in Shanghai to Release the Initiative

October 31st, 2019

         



Xinhua News Agency, Shanghai, and October 31st (Reporters: Du Kang and Zhou Lin)

Science and Technology, for the Common Destiny of Mankind. The "Shanghai Initiative" was released at the 2nd World Laureates Forum, which just concluded. The WLA International Joint Laboratory Base was unveiled, and projects such as the WLA Science Community were signed.

From October 29th to October 31st, the “strongest brains” gathered at Shanghai Lingang Dishui Lake. Nearly 70 laureates of Nobel Prize, Turing Award, Wolf Prize, Lasker Prize, and Fields Medal, more than 10 members of the CAS and CAE, and more than 100 outstanding young scientists from around the world discussed the possibilities of science and technology.

How to treat basic research and applied research? How to cultivate the scientific spirit of youth? Is human being the highest form of life on earth? Will humans create creatures smarter than us? Does science and technology develop too fast and pose a threat to society? Does science will definitely bring happiness? At the 2nd World Laureates Forum, scientists discussed many propositions.

The forum has closed, but the scientific spirit remained. At the closing ceremony, "Science and Technology, for the Common Destiny of Mankind - The 2nd World Laureates Shanghai Initiative" was released. The Initiative reaffirmed the concern and emphasis on the basic science, a transformative source of society; emphasized that the concept of openness, cooperation and the community of science and technology is still the decisive foundation for supporting scientific development; called for the support for young scientists worldwide; and building a healthy global scientific ecosystem. The initiative proposes that science and technology and scientists benefiting the future of mankind should take on more responsibilities, which can be used as a cornerstone to create a better technology management model.

In addition, WU Qing, the deputy mayor of Shanghai, and Michael Levitt, the vice chairman of the World Laureates Association, unveiled the WLA International Joint Laboratory Base. The Lingang Administration Committee of the Shanghai FTZ, Lingang Group, the World Laureates Association and other organizations and enterprises have signed cooperation projects such as the WLA Science Community.

According to reports, on the one hand, the Science Community is equipped with communication centers and laboratories to provide a convenient communication; on the other hand, it is a link between domestic and international institutions, and supporting facilities such as housing are also being constructed simultaneously.

The 2nd World Laureates Forum is organized by the Shanghai Municipal People's Government and initiated by the World Laureates Association.




A Rare Scene of Four 2019 Nobel Laureates Together, Discussing Topics from Disease Overcoming to Unknown Universe



"At the beginning of life on Earth, there was no oxygen on the planet." A sentence from Steven Chu, the 1997 Nobel Laureate in Physics connected the research fields of the four 2019 Nobel Laureates.

 

The 2nd World Laureates Forum held from October 29 to November 1 became a hot topic. Four Nobel Laureates this year: William Kaelin Jr., Gregg Semenza, Michel Mayor, Didier Queloz are rarely to sit together and discuss the ultimate issue of science from their respective fields. Facing many media cameras, from the discovery of cosmic life outside the earth to the biological discovery of HIF, all four laureates have expressed their views on the world and on scientific discoveries.

 

Is there any other life in the universe? "I think there is hope."

 

Apart from to the three other Nobel laureates who had met with the public at the opening ceremony, the 2019 Nobel Laureate in Physics Didier Queloz also joined the discussion at this media conference. He and Michel Mayor is a teacher-student relationship and looks like the youngest Nobel Laureate on the scene. For Steven Chu's first question: Does the planet outside the solar system have life? Didier Queloz gave his answer. "I think there is hope." he said. Life is made up of a variety of chemicals. The keys are to have a combination of suitable chemicals and various elements and to have some elements that can protect the planet and its environment. "We can study hundreds or thousands of planets similar to the earth, and study whether the water on the earth was originally present when the earth first appeared, or is it emerge later? With the development of geography, physics, biology, chemistry and astronomy, we will certainly get some answers about life. "Didier Queloz believes that the life of the earth is not isolated in the universe, but whether we can find life on other planets is uncertain. “Unless we find a planet exactly the same as the earth, we cannot be sure that there must be life on that planet. There may be life that is very different from ours, or we may have missed it because we don’t know what to look at or pay attention to.”

 

Michel Mayor affirmed his student's answer. According to his research, there are hundreds of billions of planets in the entire universe, and there may be millions of planets suitable for life. On the basis of this research, he mentioned the fundamental issue of this problem is: "After all, we have to think about whether life is a certain part of the evolution of the universe or is it unique."

 

This year's Nobel Laureates in Physiology or Medicine, William Kaelin Jr., Gregg Semenza, and another scientist, Peter Ratcliffe, discovered how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability. They identified molecular machinery that regulates the activity of genes in response to varying levels of oxygen. Unlike the results of physics research that cannot be applied until after a long period of time, the discovery of this year's Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine can quickly achieve clinical progress, helping people overcome various diseases. Why can scientific discoveries in medicine develop so quickly? William Kaelin Jr. and Gregg Semenza gave the same answer that is because of the development of modern biotechnology. "For example, when we made two genes HIF, we used the original method to isolate the two genes. Now we can quickly complete such a gene separation on a computer." William Kaelin Jr. said. Advances in technical tools have facilitated the process of scientific discovery, but over-reliance on technology and neglecting active thinking are also detrimental to scientific discovery. William Kaelin Jr. pointed out that there are two paths to scientific discovery. One is to think about a question first, and then see what technologies can help answer these questions. The other is that scientists are more familiar with certain technologies, and then use these technologies to see what kind of questions they can answer. Although both paths have their strengths, William Kaelin Jr. said he prefers the former, "New technologies are certainly good, but if we think about it, we still tend to understand first how everything works."

 

Source: Science and Technology Daily



video-play

2018 WLA Forum

On October 29, 2018, the WLA Science Community was officially launched in Shanghai.

Wolrd Laureates Association

Click to learn more about the associations and laureates.

Latest News

关注人类共同命运 “最强大脑” 汇聚上海发布《倡议》

2019年10月31日

     

新华社上海10月31日电(记者杜康、周琳)科技,为了人类共同命运。刚刚闭幕的第二届世界顶尖科学家论坛上发布了《上海倡议》,揭牌了世界顶尖科学家国际联合实验室基地,并签署了世界顶尖科学家科学社区等项目。

10月29日至10月31日,上海临港滴水湖畔“最强大脑”汇聚。近70位诺贝尔奖、图灵奖、沃尔夫奖、拉斯克奖、菲尔兹奖得主,10余位中国两院院士,与来自全球的100多名优秀青年科学家一起,共同探讨科技的可能性。

如何看待基础研究和应用研究?如何培养青年的科学精神?人类在地球上是不是生命的最高形式?人类是否会创造出比我们更聪明的生物?科技是否过快发展,对社会造成威胁?科学一定会带来幸福吗?第二届世界顶尖科学家论坛上,科学家们就诸多命题进行了讨论。

论坛闭幕,但科学精神留存。闭幕仪式上发布了《科技,为了人类共同命运——第二届世界顶尖科学家上海倡议》。《倡议》重申了对基础科学这个社会的变革性源泉的关注与强调;强调开放、合作和科技共同体的观念仍然是支撑科学发展的决定性基础;呼吁促进对全球青年科学家的支持;建设一个健康的全球性科学生态体系。倡议提出,让惠及人类未来的科技和科学家,承担起更多的责任,并以此为基石创造出更好的科技治理模式。

此外,上海市副市长吴清与世界顶尖科学家协会副主席迈克尔·莱维特为世界顶尖科学家国际联合实验室基地揭牌。临港新片区管委会、临港集团、世界顶尖科学家协会等单位和企业对世界顶尖科学家科学社区等合作项目进行签约。

据介绍,科学社区一方面配置交流中心、实验室,提供方便沟通的空间;一方面,与国内外机构进行项目对接,住房等配套设施也在同步建设。

此届世界顶尖科学家论坛由上海市人民政府主办,世界顶尖科学家协会发起。




四位2019诺奖得主罕见同框,从疾病克服到宇宙洪荒


“地球生命开始的时候,地球上是没有氧气的。”1997年诺贝尔物理奖获得者朱棣文的一句话将在场四位2019年诺奖得主的研究领域串联起来。


10月29-11月1日举行的第二届世界顶尖科学家论坛又掀起了一波小高潮。今年的四位诺奖得主:威廉·凯林、格雷戈·塞门萨、米歇尔·马约尔、迪迪埃·奎洛兹非常罕见地坐到一块儿,从各自研究的领域出发讨论科学终极问题。面对众多媒体记者的闪光灯,从地球之外的宇宙生命发现,到关于缺氧感应的生物学发现,四位科学家均发表了自己对世界和科学发现的见解。



宇宙中是否还有别的生命存在?“我觉得还是有希望的”

记者注意到,除了其他三位诺奖得主曾在开幕式上与公众见面,2019年诺贝尔物理学奖得主迪迪埃·奎洛兹也加入了此次媒体见面会的讨论中,他与同样是今年物理学奖获得者米歇尔·马约尔是师徒关系,看上去是在场中年纪最小的一位诺奖得主。针对朱棣文抛来的第一个问题——太阳系外的行星有没有生命?迪迪埃·奎洛兹给出了自己的答案。“我觉得是有希望的,”他说,生命就是由各种各样的化学物质构成的,关键就是要有合适的化学物质各种元素的组合。是不是存在一些元素可以保护星球以及星球环境。“我们可以研究成百上千个类似于地球这样的行星,研究地球上的水是地球刚刚出现的时候本来就有的,还是后来再出现的?随着地理、物理、生物、化学、天文的不断发展,我们必定会得到一些关于生命的答案。”迪迪埃·奎洛兹相信宇宙之内地球生命不是孤立的,但是我们是否能够寻找到其他星球的生命是不确定的。“除非我们找到一个星球跟地球一模一样,那我们就可以肯定这个星球上一定有生命。不然可能有生命跟我们非常不一样,也许就被我们错过了。因为我们根本不知道该看什么,该关注什么。”
米歇尔·马约尔对他学生的回答表示肯定。根据他的研究,整个宇宙当中,有数百亿颗、数千亿颗星球,而适合生命的星球可能有上百万颗。在此研究基础上,他提到了这个问题的根本问题——“归根到底我们要思考,生命到底是宇宙演变当中一定会出现的一部分,还是是独一无二的。”


技术飞速发展,但不能忽视主动思考的力量

今年诺贝尔生物学或生理学奖得主威廉·凯林、格雷格·塞门萨与另一位科学家彼得·拉特克利夫发现了细胞如何感知并适应氧气变化的含量。他们发现了调控基因活性的分子机器,从而响应于不同水平的氧气。与物理学研究成果在相当长一段时间内无法得到应用不同的是,今年的诺贝尔生物学或医学奖却在科学发现之后能够很快在临床上取得进展,帮助人们克服各种各样的疾病。医学领域的科学发现为何能发展如此迅速呢?对此威廉·凯林和格雷戈·塞门萨给出了同样的回答——即现代生物技术的推动。“比如当初做两个基因HIF的时候,我们都是用原始的做法,把两个基因分离出来。现在到电脑上很快完成这样一个基因分离。”威廉·凯林表示。技术工具的进步促进了科学发现的进程,但是过度依赖技术而忽视主动思考对科学发现也是不利的。威廉·凯林指出,关于科学发现的路径方法有两种,一种是先想好一个问题,然后再去看有哪些技术可以帮助回答这些问题。另外一种是科学家比较熟悉某些技术,先使用技术之后再想我用这些技术可以回答什么样的问题。尽管两种各有长处,但是威廉·凯林表示他更倾向于前者,“新技术当然很好,但是要想一想,我们还是倾向于先理解,这个万事万物怎么运作。”

来源:科技日报


video-play

2018世界顶尖科学家论坛

2018年10月29日,WLA科学社区在上海正式启动。

世界顶尖科学家协会

点击了解更多协会及协会成员详情。

最新资讯
承办单位
全球战略合作伙伴
  • 红衫中国慈善基金会
  • 鸣谢单位