About the World Laureates Forum

       The World Laureates Forum is sponsored by the World Laureates Association. At the end of October each year, laureates of Nobel Prizes, Wolf Prize, Lasker Award, Turing Award, MacArthur Fellowship will be invited to exchange with the Academicians of the CAS and CAE and the world top young scientists, discussing the current and future challenges of science and technology, the sustainable development of human destiny. They will focus on basic science and source innovation, and release the top scientific and technological achievements and ideas. It has become the birthplace of scientific and technological innovation and the innovative ideas, and has created an international scientific exchange platform with global influence.
        From October 29th to October 31st, 2018, the first World Laureates Forum was successfully held in Shanghai Lingang Dishuihu Lake. The theme of the forum is “Science and Technology, for the Common Destiny of Mankind”, which was organized by the Shanghai Municipal People's Government, co-organized by The Lingang Administration Committee of the Shanghai FTZ, Lingang Group, Shanghai Association For Science and Technology, World Laureates Association, and Shanghai Jiaotong University, and executed by Shanghai Nuogang Technology Co., Ltd. 
        Since the founding of PRC, this forum is the largest-scale science and technology event with the biggest amount of Nobel Laureates attending, second only to the Swedish Nobel Prize Ceremony, which is the highest-profile event in Asia. The forum is positioned to establish the science and technology “Davos Forum”. Through the interactive discussion of the world laureates, it explores the global science and technology development trends, proposes scientific and technological innovations in China, and promotes the industrialization of several major scientific research projects to help Shanghai accelerate its construction of a globally influential science and technology innovation center. The Forum demonstrates Shanghai's firm determination to further expand its openness to the world, and strives to become another famous international brand of Shanghai.
        The world top scientists who participate in the forum include 26 Nobel Laureates, 9 Laureates of Wolf Prize, Lasker Award, Turing Award, and MacArthur Fellowship, as well as nearly 40 Academicians of CAS and CAE, outstanding domestic and international young scientists, and more than 200 outstanding young teachers in colleges and universities. The range of the scientists covers major scientific research fields such as chemistry, physics, medicine, and computer science. They each represents the world's highest level of academic achievement and social impact in their respective fields, and demonstrates the latest research results in their respective fields, achieving cross-border and interdisciplinary in-depth exchange.
        The Forum sets up theme forums of WLA Photon Science and Industry Forum, WLA Life Sciences and Industry Forum, WLA New Drug Discovery and Translational Forum, and WLA Brain Science and Artificial Intelligence Forum, which allow scientists to have in-depth exchange on topics such as their latest research progress, the global science and technology innovation frontier prediction and planning, and the scientific and technological achievements transformation and industrialization. In the meantime, WLA Young Scientists Forum allow Chinese young scientists and top scientists to have face-to-face exchanges, cultivating and promoting the future Nobel Laureates for China.

About the World Laureates Association
        In November 2017, Roger Kornberg, 2006 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Michael Levitt, 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Barry Sharpless, 2001 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry and many other laureates jointly initiated the "Global Nobel Laureates Association" in Hong Kong. In order to attract more cross-border and interdisciplinary laureates, the association sponsors have unanimously negotiated and expanded the association into the “World Laureates Association (WLA)”. At present, there are 43 members, including 37 Nobel Laureates, 6 winners of the Wolf Prize, the Turing Award, and the MacArthur Fellowship. WLA plans to expand its members to 100 in 3 years, which will make it become the highest-profile scientific institution the Asian region. 
        The WLA has gathered the bench-markers of the global scientific community and is known as the scientific leader of 7 billion people. The Chairman of the "WLA" is the 2006 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Roger Kornberg, the sixth pair of father-and-son Nobel Laureates, Israel National Science Adviser, and Scientific Adviser for Russian President Vladimir Putin. 1997 Nobel Laureate in Physics, Steven Chu, the newly elected president of the National Association for the Advancement of Science, and former US Secretary of Energy; 2001 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Ryoji Noyori, former Chairman of RIKEN; 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Randy Schekman, former Editor-in-Chief of Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences; 2009 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society; and 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Michael Levitt, hailed as the “Strongest Brain in the World", and founder of Computational Chemistry.
        With the mission of bringing together the smartest brains of mankind and building a human destiny community of science and technology, the World Laureates Association is committed to promoting basic science, international cooperation, and growth of young scientists. WLA’s work:

1. Create a series of forums with the World Laureates Forum as the main body

2. Create an innovation fund that supports the sustainable development of science

3. Customize a science community that provides multi-dimensional services to top scientists

4. Coordinate the arrangement of scientists' activities in Greater China

Online Message
Male Woman